clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football Offseason Tracker: Transfer Portal and NFL Draft

With the transfer now open, it’s time to keep track of who is leaving, who is staying and who is coming in from the outside.


With the transfer portal now open, current members of the Oklahoma Sooners’ roster are announcing their intentions to pursue other opportunities. Thus far, Dillon Gabriel is by far the most notable name on the list. It’s worth mentioning that this does not come as any kind of shock. As you might recall, Brent Venables indicated that this would be Gabriel’s last season with the program before the 2023 campaign even began. Gabriel has been an invaluable presence during a big transition period, but 2024 was always going to belong to Jackson Arnold, and that’s how it’s playing out.

Of the other names up to this point, Tawee Walker is one that stands out. For much of the season, Walker looked like the best player in his position group. Having said that, his departure is understandable for a few reasons. Primarily, Walker was never placed on scholarship. He demonstrated the ability to be the bell cow, and he will undoubtedly have multiple suitors for that role. One would think said role would come with a scholarship. With Gavin Sawchuk taking the reins in the backfield, it makes sense.

Otherwise, none of the names on this list looked like 2024 starters. Guys like Key Lawrence, Marcus Major and Reggie Grimes are veterans of the program and have had their moments, but all three appeared lost in the shuffle in 2023. They should be able to find fruitful opportunities with other programs, and I’ll certainly be rooting for them to succeed.

Below is a list of who has declared their intention to enter the transfer portal, we’ll up date this list. We’ll also track future NFL declarations and portal commitments.

Outbound Transfer Portal

Nate Anderson - OL

Savion Byrd - OL

Dillon Gabriel - QB (Oregon)

Kelvin Gilliam - DL

Cayden Green - OL

D.J. Graham - WR

Reggie Grimes - DL

Marcus Hicks - DL (South Dakota State)

Key Lawrence - S (Ole Miss)

Jason Llewelyn - TE

Marcus Major - RB

Aaryn Parks - OL

Daylan Smothers - RB

Tawee Walker - RB

Inbound Transfer Portal

Spencer Brown - OT (Michigan State)

Dez Malone - DB (San Diego State)

Deion Burks - WR (Purdue)

Samuel Franklin - RB (UT-Martin)

Bauer Sharp - TE (Southeastern Louisiana)

NFL Draft - Staying

Ethan Downs - DL

Billy Bowman - DB

DaJon Terry - DL

Jacob Lacey - DL


NFL Draft - Leaving

Tyler Guyton - OL

Andrew Raym - OL

NFL Draft - Undecided

Jalil Farooq - WR

Woodi Washington - CB