clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football Hot Links: Spencer Jones is OU’s second Mortell Award winner

Connor McGinnis won the award for Holder of the Year in 2017.

NCAA Football: Baylor at Oklahoma Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Happy Friday, friends and fans!

Oklahoma Sooners redshirt senior Spencer Jones was recently recognized as the 2020 Pete Mortell Holder of the Year. He now joins former OU standout Connor McGinnis (2017) as the program’s only two winners of the HOTY — one of college football’s most prestigious individual awards.

Jones, a Nashville, Tennessee native and former Liberty Flame, was placed on scholarship last month after originally walking on at Oklahoma in 2018. After a stellar senior campaign that established his membership of the exclusive HOTY fraternity, the elite specialist officially announced his intention to return to OU next season to continue his pursuit of leading the Sooners back to the College Football Playoff for another chance at winning a national championship.

Now onto this week’s Friday edition of Hot Links! The Sooners will probably shop around the transfer portal over the next few weeks, Baker and his Brownies are confident despite their lack of practice, Michigan has decided to re-write Harbaugh’s contract and more!

OU Links

  • After receiving Pro Football Focus’ highest grade for an offensive lineman during the bowl season, senior OT Erik Swenson was named to the AP’s All-Bowl Team. Congrats, Erik!

Around the Sports World

Follow Crimson & Cream Machine on Twitter!