clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football releases spring roster

As was expected, some of the defensive linemen appear to have slimmed down.

NCAA Football: Baylor at Oklahoma Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

With spring football upon us, the offical spring roster has been released for the Oklahoma Sooners.

Notably, DTs Neville Gallimore and Dillon Faamatau have apparently both dropped significant amounts of weight from last season's roster to now. Gallimore went from 330 to 295, and Faamatau went from 319 to 290. This development is the Alex Grinch effect at work, as his aggressive “Speed D” relies on linemen being as conditioned and agile as possible. It'll be interesting to see how effective both players can be this spring and beyond compared to their performances in the past.

There aren't any notable jersey number changes for returning players. Jalen Hurts, who wore No. 2 throughout his Alabama career, will now don No. 1, worn by Kyler Murray a season ago. Also, Oklahoma's trio of top flight early enrollee receivers are as follows: No. 8 Trejan Bridges, No. 10 Theo Wease and No. 11 Jadon Haselwood. If you keep up with Twitter, you were probably made aware of those decisions at an earlier date.

Receiver A.D. Miller, who Lincoln Riley announced would remain with the Sooners this season instead of transferring to Illinois, doesn't appear to be assigned a number as of yet. However, he is back on the official roster. Last season, Miller wore 12.

The rest of the 2019 recruiting class (as in players who didn’t enroll early) will be assigned their numbers when they arrive in the summer. It'll be interesting to see who gets No. 5, vacated by the one and only Marquise “Hollywood” Brown.

Follow Crimson & Cream Machine on Twitter!