clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football: Kyler Murray claims Davey O’Brien Award

New, 5 comments

Murray beat Tua Tagovailoa and Gardner Minshew for the honor of college football’s top quarterback.

NCAA Football: Big 12 Championship-Texas vs Oklahoma Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

The Davey O’Brien Award, given annually to college football’s top QB, now belongs to Kyler Murray. It’s the fifth time an Oklahoma QB has won the award, joining Jason White (twice), Sam Bradford and Baker Mayfield. Alabama’s Tua Tagovailoa and Washington State’s Garner Minshew were also finalists.

Murray leads the nation in total yards (4,945), passing efficiency rating (205.7, FBS record is 198.9 set by Baker Mayfield), QBR (96.0, highest ever) yards per pass attempt (11.9; FBS record is 11.1) and points responsible for (306, tied with Dwayne Haskins). He also ranks second in completion percentage (.709, first among P5 players) and and yards per completion (16.82). Additionally, Murray’s 892 rushing yards ranks second in the nation for a QB with at least 300 passing attempts.

Of course, Murray is currently the favorite to win the Heisman Trophy, which would tie Oklahoma with Notre Dame and Ohio State for the most total trophies won. USC is also involved in the tie if you include Reggie Bush, whose trophy was later vacated.

Murray is also a finalist for the Maxwell Award, which will be awarded later this evening. Additionally, he claimed the AP Player of the Year Award earlier in the day.