clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football: OU offensive line wins Joe Moore Award

New, 5 comments

Oklahoma was snubbed in 2017, but not this time around.

NCAA Football: Oklahoma at Texas Christian Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

Under the tutelage of Bill Bedenbaugh, the offensive line has been an area of strength Oklahoma Sooners for years. His unit if finally being given with the Joe Moore Award for the Most Outstanding Offensive Line Unit in College Football, which has been in existence since 2015 and is awarded by the Foundation of Teamwork. The current line consists of Consensus All-American guard Ben Powers, Co-Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year Dru Samia, talented redshirt freshman center Creed Humphrey, First-Team All-Big 12 right tackle Cody Ford and Second-Team All-Big 12 left tackle Bobby Evans.

As many of you might recall, OU’s offensive line was snubbed in 2017. In fact, the group — whose starters consisted of Orlando Brown and Erick Wren as well as current starters Powers, Samia and Evans — wasn’t even named a finalist. Fortunately, this group edged out Alabama and Georgia this time around and is finally receiving the recognition it deserves.

What’s been most impressive about this year’s group is how well it has adapted to change. Powers and Samia stayed in their spots in 2018, but with Evans moving from RT to LT, Ford moving from guard to RT and Humphrey experiencing his first collegiate action, there were going to be some growing pains. However, once everyone was settled in, this unit served as both an unstoppable force and an immovable object. Kyler Murray had a clean pocket all season, and the offense was able to eclipse the 300-yard rushing mark on six occasions. In short, this is a well-deserved (and long overdue) honor for Bill Bedenbaugh and his guys.