clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football: Lincoln Riley named co-Big 12 Head Coach of the Year, seven Sooners earn First Team All-Big 12 honors

New, 13 comments

Also, Kyler Murray, Austin Seibert and Dru Samia earned individual honors.

Kansas State v Oklahoma Photo by Brett Deering/Getty Images

The Big 12 has announced the winners of its annual football awards, and the Oklahoma Sooners are represented quite well. Lincoln Riley has been named co-Big 12 Head Coach of the Year (along with Iowa State’s Matt Campbell), while Kyler Murray and Austin Seibert have been named Offensive and Special Teams Players of the Year, respectively. On top of that, Dru Samia has been named co-Offensive Lineman of the Year along with Kansas State’s Dalton Risner and West Virginia’s Yodny Cajuste.

Additionally, seven Sooners — Murray, Seibert (PK), Samia, Marquise Brown, Grant Calcaterra, Cody Ford and Ben Powers — have made the cut for the All-Big 12 First Team, which leads the conference. Carson Meier, Bobby Evans, Tre Brown (returner) and Kenneth Murray earned second team honors.

Complete Award Winners and All-Big 12 Teams

Oklahoma has now claimed the Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year award in four consecutive seasons. Murray joins Dede Westbrook (2016) Baker Mayfield (2015 and 2017), Sam Bradford (2008), Jason White (2003 and 2004) and Josh Heupel (2000) with the distinction.

The Honorable Mention All-Big 12 list includes Amani Bledsoe, Curtis Bolton, Kennedy Brooks, Tre Brown (DB), Neville Gallimore, Creed Humphrey, CeeDee Lamb, Kenneth Mann, Parnell Motley, Austin Seibert (P) and Trey Sermon.

There isn’t too much to say about OU snubs other than the fact that the CeeDee Lamb disrespect is very real. I can obviously understand him not making the first team with Hollywood, Tylan Wallace and David Sills involved, but you can not tell me that he isn’t in the top six at his position in this conference (with all due respect to Reagor, Wesley and Butler).