clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football: Kyler Murray named finalist for Maxwell and Davey O’Brien Awards

Unfortunately, Ben Powers and Marquise Brown were snubbed for awards.

NCAA Football: Kansas at Oklahoma Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

With his stellar play in recent weeks, Kyler Murray appears to be narrowing the national Heisman Trophy gap with Tua Tagovailoa. On top of that, he has been named a finalist for a pair of other prestigious awards.

The Maxwell Award is given to the to the nation’s top player, and Murray is joined by finalists Tua Tagovailoa of Alabama and Will Grier of West Virginia. In the race for the Davey O’Brien Award — presented to college football’s top quarterback — Murray made the cut with Tagovailoa and Washington State QB Gardner Minshew. Both awards will be presented at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, which will be

Murray ranks second nationally in passing efficiency (205.8), yards per pass attempt (11.9), yards per completion (16.9) and points responsible for per game (24.0). He also ranks third nationally in total offense per game (368.1 yards), fifth in passing touchdowns per game (3.1) and sixth in completion percentage (.703). Murray has also been a major threat on the ground, averaging 67.2 yards per game and totaling 10 rushing touchdowns.

Unfortunately, not every Oklahoma Sooners star received good news on Monday, as Marquise Brown and Ben Powers missed the cut for the Biletnikoff Award and Outland Trophy, respectively, after previously being named semifinalists. Oklahoma State’s Tylan Wallace, Alabama’s Jerry Jeudy and UMass’s Andy Isabella made the cut for the Biletnikoff, while Clemson defensive lineman Christian Wilkins, Alabama defensive lineman Quinnen Williams and Alabama offensive lineman Jonah Williams were named finalists for the Outland — awarded annually to the nation’s top interior lineman.