clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football: Baker Mayfield wins the Maxwell Award

New, 27 comments

Oklahoma QB Baker Mayfield has won the Maxwell Awarded, which is given to college football’s most outstanding player.

TCU v Oklahoma Photo by Brett Deering/Getty Images

Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Baker Mayfield has led his team to the College Football Playoff and has captivated the college in the process. On Thursday evening in Atlanta, Mayfield won the Maxwell Award, which is given annually to college football’s most outstanding player. OU’s signal caller edged Stanford running back Bryce Love and Penn State running back Saquon Barkley to capture the award.

Mayfield leads the FBS in completion percentage (.710), passing efficiency rating (203.8, which would be an NCAA record if he stays on pace), yards per attempt (11.8), yards per completion (16.6) and pass of plays of 20-plus yards (75). He also ranks second in passing touchdowns (41) and has thrown only five interceptions.

Barkley, who was considered by many to be the frontrunner for the Heisman midway through the season, picked up 1,724 yards (1,134 rushing, 594 receiving) from scrimmage in the regular season. Love rushed for 1,973 yards on 237 attempts (8.3 yards per carry) despite being hampered my a nagging high-ankle sprain throughout much of the season.

Mayfield is the third player in school history to win the award, joining Jason White (2004) and Tommy McDonald (1956).

The winner of the Maxwell Award has taken home the Heisman Trophy in each of the previous three seasons, and that certainly seems to be the case once again leading up to Saturday’s ceremony. Mayfield will be joined by Love and Louisville QB (and last year’s winner) Lamar Jackson in New York, but don’t expect a lot of drama. Jackson has been better this season than he was a year ago, but his team’s record won’t do him any favors. The same goes for Love, whose team currently sits at 9-4 and will be playing in the Alamo Bowl later this month.

Mayfield named the AP Player of the Year, Walter Camp Player of the Year and Davey O’Brien Award winner earlier in the day.