clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football: Baker Mayfield wins the Davey O’Brien Award

Baker Mayfield is the third Oklahoma quarterback to win the award.

West Virginia v Oklahoma Photo by Brett Deering/Getty Images

Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Baker Mayfield has undoubtedly been the best quarterback in college football this season. On Thursday night, Mayfield earned the recognition he deserved by winning the Davey O’Brien Award, which is given annually to college football’s top quarterback. Mayfield won the Walter Camp and AP Player of the Year awards earlier in the day.

The Austin native leads the nation in completion percentage (.710), passing efficiency rating (203.8, which would be an NCAA record if he stays on pace), yards per attempt (11.8), yards per completion (16.6) and pass of plays of 20-plus yards (75). He also ranks second in passing touchdowns (41).

The other two finalists for the award, Oklahoma State’s Mason Rudolph and Ohio State’s J.T. Barrett, also had some really impressive seasons — particularly from a statistical standpoint. However, both Oklahoma State and Ohio State lost to Mayfield’s team during the regular season, which helped propel the Sooners into the College Football Playoff. Beyond all of that, most folks recognize the impact that Mayfield has on his team as a leader. Rudolph and Barrett certainly aren’t lacking in that area, but Mayfield is just a one-of-a-kind personality. I think that kind of thing makes it easier for the stuffier types to overlook some of his on-field “antics” and likely helps put him over the top when awards are up for grabs.