clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football - College Football Awards Show: Preview, Thread & How to Watch

New, 21 comments

A pair of Oklahoma Sooners — Baker Mayfield and Orlando Brown — hope to hear their names called.

Oklahoma v Texas Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

The Home Depot College Football Awards Show will get underway on Thursday at 6 p.m. CT on ESPN, with some of the best college football players and players being honored for their exemplary work throughout the 2017 season. A pair of Oklahoma Sooners — quarterback Baker Mayfield and offensive tackle Orlando Brown — are hoping to hear their names called. Mark Andrews, who was announced as the winner of the John Mackey Award on Wednesday, has also been in Atlanta this week.

How to Watch

  • Time: 6 p.m. CT
  • Location: College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta
  • TV: ESPN
  • Streaming: WatchESPN

Unsurprisingly, Baker Mayfield is a finalist for both the Davey O’Brien and Maxwell Awards, which are given to college football’s most outstanding quarterback and player, respectively. Joining Mayfield as an O’Brien finalist are Ohio State’s J.T. Barrett and Oklahoma State’s Mason Rudolph — both of whom lost to Mayfield’s team during the regular season.

The other two finalists for the Maxwell Award are Penn State running back Saquon Barkley and Stanford running back Bryce Love. Barkley, who was considered by many to be the frontrunner for the Heisman midway through the season, picked up 1,724 yards (1,134 rushing, 594 receiving) from scrimmage in the regular season. Love rushed for 1,973 yards on 237 attempts (8.3 yards per carry) despite being hampered my a nagging high-ankle sprain throughout much of the season.

Orlando Brown is in his home city as a finalist for the Outland Trophy, which is awarded to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman. He’s joined by Notre Dame offensive tackle Quenton Nelson and Houston defensive tackle Ed Oliver. Many, including ESPN’s Ryan McGee, have predicted that Brown will take home the award.

Here’s the list of tonight’s finalists for each top honor:

Bednarik Award

Bradley Chubb, N.C. State

Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama

Roquan Smith, Georgia

Biletnikoff Award

Michael Gallup, Colorado State

David Sills V, West Virginia

James Washington, Oklahoma State

Lou Groza Award

Daniel Carlson, Auburn

Dominik Eberle, Utah State

Matt Gay, Utah

Ray Guy Award

Michael Dickson, Texas

JK Scott, Alabama

Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah

Maxwell Award

Saquon Barkley, Penn State

Bryce Love, Stanford

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma

Davey O’Brien Award

J.T. Barrett, Ohio State

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma

Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State

Outland Trophy

Orlando Brown, Oklahoma

Quenton Nelson, Notre Dame

Ed Oliver, Houston

Jim Thorpe Award

DeShon Elliott, Texas

Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama

Josh Jackson, Iowa

Doak Walker Award

Saquon Barkley, Penn State

Bryce Love, Stanford

Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin