clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Playoff field announced: Oklahoma will play Georgia in the 2018 Rose Bowl

New, 146 comments

The Big 12 champions will play the SEC champions in Pasadena

Big 12 Championship - Oklahoma v TCU Photo by Ron Jenkins/Getty Images

After defeating the TCU Horned Frogs to capture its third consecutive Big 12 title, the Oklahoma Sooners have earned a berth in the College Football Playoff and will face the Georgia Bulldogs in the Rose Bowl. Oklahoma comes into the CFP as the No. 2 seed.

The Sooners and Bulldogs have never faced one another on the gridiron. The Sooners have the advantage as far as history is concerned, but UGA isn’t exactly lacking in that area. Georgia boasts two national championships, 53 bowl appearances (including this one) and a pair of Heisman Trophy winners.

Georgia clinched a berth in the CFP by dominating Auburn by a score of 28-7 in the SEC Championship. The Bulldogs rank 37th nationally in total yards per game with an average of 434 while scoring 34.9 points per game (23rd) on the season. Everything starts with the running game for the Bulldogs, who tout a legit three-headed monster of Nick Chubb, Sony Michel and D’Andre Swift.

Baker Mayfield will be facing his toughest test of the season on New Year’s Day in the form of the Georgia defense, which has allowed only 271 yards per game this season.

The game will take place in Pasadena on Jan. 1 at 4 p.m. CT. The Sugar Bowl, which will match up No. 1 Clemson and No. 4 Alabama, will kick off at 7:45 p.m. CT.