clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football: Baker Mayfield, Ogbonnia Okoronkwo earn Big 12 Player of the Year honors

Baker Mayfield was named Big 12 Offensive Player of the year while Ogbonnia Okoronkwo was named Co-Defensive Player of the Year.

West Virginia v Oklahoma Photo by Brett Deering/Getty Images

The Oklahoma Sooners have been the best team in the Big 12 in 2017, and this season’s conference honors reflect that fact.

Baker Mayfield, who is considered to be a lock for the Heisman Trophy, was named Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year. Oklahoma linebacker Ogbonnia Okoronkwo also shared the Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year honor with Texas linebacker Malik Jefferson. Additionally, offensive tackle Orlando Brown was named Big 12 Offensive Lineman of the Year.

The one notable award snub involves OU wide receiver CeeDee Lamb, whose 741 receiving yards and seven touchdowns were much better than the numbers put up by Big 12 Co-Offensive Freshman of the Year honoree Jalen Reagor. Baylor quarterback Charlie Brewer was the other co-honoree in that category.

On the other side, Kenneth Murray was named Co-Defensive Freshman of the Year along with TCU DT Ross Blacklock. Murray and Blacklock were high school teammates, so that’s actually pretty cool.

Dimitri Flowers, Mark Andrews and Erik Wren joined Mayfield, Okoronkwo and Flowers as All-Big 12 First Team honorees, while Rodney Anderson, Ben Powers, Dru Samia, Austin Seibert (PK), DJ Ward and Steven Parker earned Second Team honors. Emmanuel Beal, Marquise Brown, Grant Calcaterra, Bobby Evans, Will Johnson, Caleb Kelly, CeeDee Lamb, Kenneth Murray, Austin Seibert (P) and Trey Sermon were named to the Honorable Mention list. I’m not entirely sure how Bobby Evans, who’s had an outstanding year, didn’t at least make the Second Team.

Here’s the full list of honorees and All-Big 12 teams