clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Two Oklahoma Sooners Named To Maxwell Award Watch List

Mark D. Smith-USA TODAY Sports

Each and every year, the Maxwell Award is given to the college football player of the year. Alabama Crimson Tide running back, Derrick Henry, won the award last season and the Oregon Ducks quarterback, Marcus Mariota, took home the honors the year before. Now, as the world of college football looks forward to 2016, we have a new list of hopefuls.

Two Oklahoma Sooners -- quarterback Baker Mayfield and running back Samaje Perine -- have been added to the list of players to watch for the Maxwell Award. In 2015, Mayfield threw for 3,700 yards including 36 touchdown passes. On the ground, Perine may have split carries but amassed 1,349 total yards while crossing the goal line 16 times.

In the history of the award, only two former Sooners have claimed the title of college football's player of the year. The first was Pro Football Hall of Famer and wide receiver, Tommy McDonald in 1956. The second happens to be Jason White, a quarterback plagued by knee injuries throughout his career.

Could a third join them in 2016?