clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football | College Football Awards Show: Viewing Guide, Preview & Thread

Baker Mayfield and Dede Westbrook are candidates for major awards in Atlanta

Oklahoma v Texas Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield and wide receiver Dede westbrook are in Atlanta for this evening’s College Football Awards Show, which will be televised on ESPN. This is where all of the biggest awards — with the exception of the Heisman Trophy — are handed out. Mayfield is a finalist for the Davey O’Brien Award (best quarterback) and the Maxwell Award (player of the year), and Westbrook is a finalist for the Biletnikoff Award (outstanding receiver).

Former Oklahoma quarterback Trevor Knight will be in attendance, as he is a candidate for the Wuerffel Trophy — the award for community service. We all are well aware of the service Knight performed both locally and in Haiti on a regular basis while at OU, so I hope he comes away with the trophy.

How to watch or stream Thursday’s show

Time: 6 p.m. CT

TV: ESPN, but ESPNU’s got coverage at 5 p.m. CT, including a few early awards not handed out during the show itself.

Streaming: WatchESPN

Location: College Football Hall of Fame, Atlanta

Here’s a complete list of finalists for Thursday’s awards:

Maxwell Award – national player of the year

Lamar Jackson, Louisville QB

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma QB

Jabrill Peppers, Michigan LB

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Lamar Jackson, Louisville

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma

Deshaun Watson, Clemson

Doak Walker Award – premier running back

Dalvin Cook, Florida State

D’Onta Foreman, Texas

Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego State

Biletnikoff Award – outstanding receiver

Austin Carr, Northwestern

Zay Jones, East Carolina

Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma

Outland Trophy – outstanding interior lineman

Pat Elflein, Ohio State C

Cody O’Connell, Washington State LG

Cam Robinson, Alabama LT

Chuck Bednarik Award – defensive player of the year

Jonathan Allen, Alabama DE

Myles Garrett, Texas A&M DE

Jabrill Peppers, Michigan LB

Jim Thorpe Award – best defensive back

Adoree’ Jackson, USC CB

Jourdan Lewis, Michigan CB

Tre’Davious White, LSU CB

Lou Groza Award – outstanding placekicker

Daniel Carlson, Auburn

Zane Gonzalez, Arizona State

Younghoe Koo, Georgia Southern

Ray Guy Award – punter of the year

Michael Dickson, Texas

Cameron Johnston, Ohio State

Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah

The awards being handed out before the show are:

John Mackey Award– outstanding tight end

Jake Butt, Michigan (winner)

O.J. Howard, Alabama

Jordan Leggett, Clemson

Rimington Award – outstanding center

Pat Elflein, Ohio State

Tyler Orlosky, West Virginia

Ethan Pocic, LSU

Wuerffel Trophy – for community service

Garrett Adcock, New Mexico OL

Trevor Knight, Texas A&M QB

Christian McCaffrey, Stanford RB