clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football: Sooners Headline All-Big 12 Team

Bob Stoops, Dede Westbrook and Orlando Brown each earned individual honors

NCAA Football: Oklahoma State at Oklahoma Kevin Jairaj-USA TODAY Sports

A day after seven Sooners were named to the AP All-Big 12 team, the Big 12 Conference released its own all-conference team, which was selected by the league’s head coaches. Dede Westbrook — a Heisman and Biletnikoff candidate — was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Bob Stoops was named Coach of the Year. Additionally, OU offensive tackle Orlando Brown was named Offensive Lineman of the Year, and he’s the first sophomore to every earn that title.

Brown and Westbrook — along with Baker Mayfield, Joe Mixon, Mark Andrews, Jordan Evans and Jordan Thomas — were First-Team All-Big 12 selections, while Samaje Perine, Dimitri Flowers, Westbrook (as a returner), Jordan Wade and Ogbonnia Okoronkwo were name to the second team. The full team can be seen here.

OFFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma, WR, Sr., Cameron, Texas

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jordan Willis, K-State, DE, Sr., Kansas City, Mo.

OFFENSIVE NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Justin Crawford, West Virginia, RB, Jr., Columbus, Ga.

DEFENSIVE NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: D.J. Reed, K-State, DB, So., Bakersfield, Calif.

OFFENSIVE FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Justice Hill, Oklahoma State, RB, Tulsa, Okla.

DEFENSIVE FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Reggie Walker, K-State, DE, Ponchatoula, La.

SPECIAL TEAMS PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Michael Dickson, Texas, P, So., Sydney, Australia

OFFENSIVE LINEMAN OF THE YEAR: Orlando Brown, Oklahoma, So., Duluth, Ga.

DEFENSIVE LINEMAN OF THE YEAR: Jordan Willis, K-State, DE, Sr., Kansas City, Mo.

COACH OF THE YEAR: Bob Stoops, Oklahoma (18th season)