clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Football: Baker Mayfield and Dede Westbrook Named Maxwell Award Semifinalists

Former Sooner Trevor Knight was also named a semifinalist

Kansas State v Oklahoma Photo by Brett Deering/Getty Images

Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield and wide receiver Dede Westbrook have been named semifinalists for the Maxwell Award, the Maxwell Football Club announced Monday. Former Sooner and current Texas A&M quarterback Trevor Knight is also on the list.

Maxwell Football Club

The Maxwell Award is a College Player of the Year award, but the award only goes to the eventual Heisman winner about half the time. One would think that Heisman frontrunner Lamar Jackson would be a shoe-in, but that’s not always how this award works. Having said that, Baker Mayfield and Dede Westbrook are strong candidates based on the statistical years they’re having. Mayfield has thrown for 27 touchdowns and only five interceptions, and is completing 70.9 percent of his passes. Westbrook has 57 receptions for 1,035 yards and 11 touchdowns, with most of that production coming in the month of October.

Oklahoma and Alabama are the only two schools with more than one player on the list, with each having two semifinalists. The SEC and ACC lead the way with four finalists apiece.