clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 Oklahoma Sooners Countdown To Kickoff | 7 Days!

New, 1 comment
Brian Bahr/Getty Images

Since 1950, the Oklahoma Sooners have laid claim to seven national championships. The most recent came under Bob Stoops during the BCS era. An unheralded team leaned heavily upon a stout defense en route to an undefeated season. Climbing the polls, Oklahoma found themselves in the national conversation facing Heisman winning quarterback, Chris Weinke and the Florida State Seminoles in the Orange Bowl.

As an 11 point dog, the Sooners shocked the college football world by holding the 'Noles scoreless on offense and riding the defense to an 11 point win. Linebacker, Torrance Marshall took home MVP honors as OU cemented themselves in history.