clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 Oklahoma Sooners Countdown To Kickoff | 8 Days!

New, 1 comment
Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

Oklahoma has dominated the Big 12 since it's creation in 1996. The Sooners have eight Big 12 championships to their name, with Texas coming in second with three. While the conference power may have shifted to Baylor and TCU, they have a long way to go before getting their eighth Big 12 championship.

Before the last conference realignment that left the Big 12 with 10 teams, there was an annual conference championship game between the North and South division to see who would become the Big 12 champ. In 15 conference championship games, the Sooners won seven of them. They then won again in 2012 but tied with Kansas State and became a co-champion.

They won it in 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, and 2012.

They haven't won in either of the past two seasons, the first time they haven't won one in two years under Bob Stoops. They will look to try to make it number nine this season and will try to win their first outright Big 12 championship since 2010.

Here's a highlight reel of the last Big 12 championship game, a 23-20 victory for the Oklahoma Sooners over their longtime rival Nebraska.