clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma Sooners Baseball | Four Featured On All-Big 12 First Team

New, 1 comment
Rich DeCray

On the eve of the Big 12 Conference Tournament, the All-Conference Selections have been released as voted on by the coaches. For the Oklahoma Sooners, both OF Craig Aikin and INF Kolbey Carpenter find themselves featured as unanimous First Team selections. INF Anthony Hermelyn along with INF Sheldon Nuese join the aforementioned players on the First Team.


Player of the Year: Cody Jones, TCU
Pitcher of the Year: Michael Freeman, Oklahoma State
Newcomer of the Year: Ben Krauth, Kansas
Freshman of the Year: Connor Wanhanen, TCU*
Coach of the Year: Jim Schlossnagle, TCU*

Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Gage Green, Oklahoma State*^ C Sr. Wichita Falls, Texas/Rider
Shane Conlon, Kansas State*# INF Sr. Naperville, Ill./Central
Kolbey Carpenter, Oklahoma* INF Jr. Waco, Texas/West
Sheldon Neuse, Oklahoma*^% INF So. Fort Worth, Texas/Keller Fossil Ridge
Donnie Walton, Oklahoma State^ INF Jr.. Tulsa, Okla./Bishop Kelley
Eric Gutierrez, Texas Tech*^ INF Jr. Mission, Texas/Sharyland
Connor McKay, Kansas+ OF Sr. Parker, Colo./Regis Jesuit
Craig Aikin, Oklahoma&+ OF Jr. Coppell, Texas/Coppell
Cody Jones, TCU@ OF Sr. Round Rock, Texas/Temple JC
Ben Johnson, Texas*@ OF Jr. Austin, Texas/Westwood
Anthony Hermelyn, Oklahoma UTL Jr. McKinney, Texas/McKinney North
Connor Wanhanen, TCU* DH Fr. Flower Mound, Texas/Flower Mound
Michael Freeman, Oklahoma State* LHP Sr. Broken Arrow, Okla./Eastern Oklahoma
Preston Morrison, TCU*^# RHP Sr. Waxhaw, N.C./Cuthbertson
Alex Young, TCU*& LHP Jr. Hawthorn Woods, Ill./Carmel Catholic
Cameron Smith, Texas Tech@ LHP Sr. Seabrook, Texas/New Mexico JC
Riley Ferrell, TCU*^ RHP Jr. College Station, Texas/A&M Consolidated
Corey Taylor, Texas Tech RHP Sr. Kennedale, Texas/Cisco JC

In total, six different Sooners are featured on the All-Conference Team. The final two making the list are two pitchers in LHP Jacob Evans and RHP Robert Tasin.

Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Michael Tinsley, Kansas* C So. Menlo Park, Calif./Junipero Sierra
Tim Arakawa, Oklahoma State+ INF Sr. Honolulu, Hawaii/Yavapai CC
Keaton Jones, TCU@ INF Sr. Laguna Beach, Calif./Laguna Beach
Tres Barrera, Texas% INF So. Eagle Pass, Texas/Mission Sharyland
Jackson Cramer, West Virginia INF So. Coppell, Texas/Coppell
Taylor Munden, West Virginia@ INF Sr. Lewisville, Texas/Marion Military Institute
Corey Hassel, Oklahoma State OF Jr. Stillwater, Okla./Stillwater
Ryan Sluder, Oklahoma State OF So. Amarillo, Texas/Amarillo
Stephen Smith, Texas Tech% OF So. Wolfforth, Texas/Frenship
Kyle Davis, West Virginia UTL Fr. Cincinnati, Ohio/Cincinnati Hills Christian
Cory Raley, Texas Tech DH Jr. Uvalde, Texas/Temple College
Ben Krauth, Kansas LHP Jr. Concord, Calif./Diablo Valley College
Nate Griep, Kansas State RHP So. Omaha, Neb./Millard West
Robert Tasin, Oklahoma RHP Sr. Klein, Texas/Howard College
Parker French, Texas RHP Sr. Dripping Spring, Texas/Dripping Springs
Jacob Evans, Oklahoma& LHP Jr. Broken Arrow, Okla./Broken Arrow
Dominic Moreno, Texas Tech RHP Sr. Farmington, N.M./Howard College

Ties in voting created four first team outfielders.
Both first and second team catchers were unanimous selections, however the first team honoree received a higher finish in the weighted vote.
* Unanimous Choice
^2014 First Team Honoree
+2014 Second Team Honoree
@2014 Honorable Mention
%2014 All-Freshman Team Honoree
#2013 First Team Honoree
&2013 Second Team Honoree