clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Eight Represent Oklahoma Sooners on Academic All-Big 12 Baseball Team

Rich DeCray

For the first time in over a decade, the Oklahoma Sooners Baseball Program is being represented by at least eight different players on the Academic All-Big 12 Baseball Team. The last time the feat was accomplished was in 2003 when the Sooners landed nine player on the list. Out of the eight representatives, five were named to the first team while the remaining three were named to the second team.

Behind a cumulative grade-point average of 3.20 or higher, seniors Drew Krittenbrink, Kyle Hayes, and Dylan Neal landed First Team honors. Joining them from the junior class are Taylor Alspaugh and Robert Tasin to round out the group of five earning recognition for their academic excellence.

Junior Mac James added his name to the the second team by maintaining a GPA of 3.00 to 3.19 during his career. Also being listed in this category are sophomores Jacob Evans and Hunter Haley. Although Oklahoma has eight players listed on the Academic Team, it is the first time for each of the eight to earn the honors.