clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big 12 Football Awards As Voted By The Coaches | Samaje Perine Freshman Offensive Player of the Year, 10 Sooners Make All-Conference List

Mark D. Smith-USA TODAY Sports

Throughout the morning, the Big 12 Conference has announced the winners of the All-Big 12 Awards. With each new mention being released roughly 5-10 apart, the list was completed at 11:30 AM on Wednesday. Most notably for the Oklahoma Sooners, Samaje Perine has been labeled as the Freshman Offensive Player of the Year and rightfully so.

The Oklahoma coaching staff consistently turned to Perine especially after the injury to Keith Ford. Through 12 games, the true freshman racked up 1579 yards on 240 carries to lead the league in rushing. However, the running back experienced a truly special moment as Perine set the single game rushing record a 427 yards against Kansas in front of a home crowd.


Defensive Newcomer of the Year Shaq Riddick, West Virginia, DL, Sr, Akron, Ohio
Offensive Freshman of the Year Samaje Perine, Oklahoma, RB, Pflugerville, Texas
Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year Gary Patterson, TCU (14th year)
Defensive Freshman of the Year Kamari Cotton-Moya, Iowa State, DB, Bakersfield, Calif.
Co-Offensive Lineman of the Year Spencer Drango, Baylor, Jr, Cedar Park, Texas
B.J. Finney, Kansas State, Sr, Andale, Kan.
Offensive Player of the Year Trevone Boykin, TCU, QB, Jr, Dallas, Texas
Defensive Lineman of the Year Emmanuel Ogbah, Oklahoma State, So, Houston, Texas
Offensive Newcomer of the Year Tyreek Hill, Oklahoma State, ATH, Jr, Pearson, Ga.
Defensive Player of the Year Paul Dawson, TCU, LB, Sr, Dallas, Texas
Special Teams Player of the Year Tyler Lockett, Kansas State, PR/KR, Sr, Tulsa, Okla.

First Team All-Conference

As voted on by the coaches, the Oklahoma Sooners placed six players (4 offensive and 2 defensive) on the First Team. It should be noted that the 10 coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their respective programs.

Second Team All-Conference