clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

OU Softball 2013 | Sooners Sweep Big 12 Postseason Awards

The Oklahoma Softball team capped their regular season of unprecedented dominance by sweeping the Big 12 Conference's postseason awards which were announced on Tuesday (full release here).

The Sooners won Coach, Pitcher, and Player of the year as well as placing seven individuals between the All-Big 12 first and second teams.

Coach of the Year: Patty Gasso

Pitcher of the Year: Keilani Ricketts

Player of the Year: Shelby Pendley

All-Big 12 First Team: Ricketts, Pendley, Lauren Chamberlain, Destinee Martinez, & Brianna Turang

All-Big 12 Second Team: Georgia Casey & Michelle Gascoigne

All of that without even a mention of Jessica Shults. Not to mention Pendley winning the player of the year over her teammate and equally deserving candidate in Chamberlain.

It is also worth reminding you the Sooners still have three of the ten finalists for National Player of the Year in Chamberlain, Gascoigne, and Ricketts (the likely favorite and last year's winner as well).

It's been a special year and this is just one more unnecessary but exciting and well earned indicator of just how special.