clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oklahoma Basketball: Second Annual Alumni Game Set For Noon on Saturday August 25th


For the second straight year, the Oklahoma Sooners and Head Coach Lon Kruger are reaching out to former players and fans alike. Many of the players and coaches were once fan favorites and in an attempt to bridge the gap, they will be available for autographs before as well as after the Alumni Game. Not to mention that this is a FREE ADMISSION game hosted at Lloyd Noble Center in Norman, OK at noon on Saturday, August 25th.

The headliner for this event is the 1988 Sooner team that boasted a handful of players that were drafted in the first round and would have been the equivalent of today's Lottery Picks. Mookie Blaylock and Stacey King alongside Billy Tubbs are all slotted to be present.

My favorite quote from King is from his stint with the Chicago Bulls during the Michael Jordan era. King scored a whopping single point against the Cavaliers while Jordan went off on a career high 69 points. After the game Stacey was interviewed and he had this to say:

I'll always remember this as the night that Michael Jordan and I combined for 70 points. - Stacey King

Check out the jump for a complete list of players who will make an appearance over the weekend.

Members of the 1988 team scheduled to be on hand this year are Mookie Blaylock, Ricky Grace, Harvey Grant, Tyrone Jones, Stacey King, Tony Martin, Terrence Mullins, Dave Sieger, Jason Skurcenski and Andre Wiley. Head coach Billy Tubbs and assistants Mike Anderson, Jim Kerwin and Mike Mims are also slated to attend.

Some of the other many former Sooners already scheduled to participate in this year's festivities include: Steve Bajema, Al Beal, Kevin Bookout, Corey Brewer, Shawn Clark, Nate Erdmann, Kenny Evans (Top Daug), Terry Evans, Garfield Heard, Skeeter Henry, Tim Heskett, Bobby Jack, Darryl "Choo" Kennedy, Joe King, David Little, John McCullough, Mike McCurdy, Scott Martin, Michael Neal, Kelley Newton, Ted Owens, William Tisdale, Tommy Tubbs, Ray Whitley and Bryatt Vann. -