clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Oklahoma Football Banquet Award Winners

New, 3 comments

The University of Oklahoma football program held its annual awards banquet Friday night and courtesy of we know who those award winners were.

Head coach Bob Stoops recognized 21 seniors for their accomplishments and contributions. This year's senior class registered four consecutive bowl berths and two Big 12 championships, while registering a 40-12 overall record. This contingent of seniors produced a 21-3 home mark and a 25-9 conference record, including three straight victories against Texas.

Don Key Award - David King

The Don Key Award is presented annually to a senior who exemplifies all-around excellence in the classroom and on the field. Key was a three-year starter for the Sooners, an All-Big 8 guard and potential All-American until cancer surgery ended his football career in 1981. Barry Switzer established the Don Key Award in 1982.

The Kalsu Award - Landry Jones

The Kalsu Award is bestowed annually to a member of the team who personifies Kalsu's spirit of leadership, serving as a motivator and role model for his teammates. Kalsu earned All-America honors in 1967 as an offensive tackle while helping the Sooners to a Big 8 Championship. Serving as a member of the U.S. Army's highly-decorated 101st Airborne Division, Kalsu was killed by North Vietnamese mortar fire on July 21, 1970.

The Derrick Shepard Most Inspirational Walk-On Award - Aaron Ripkowski

Bob Stoops also announced Friday night that Ripkowski will be on scholarship next season. A well deserved honor.

Special Teams Players of the Year - Jaydan Bird, Justin Brown, Brennan Clay, Roy Finch, Michael Hunnicutt, Trey Millard, Jalen Saunders, and Tress way.

Scout Team Offensive Players of the Year - Trevor Knight & Derrick Woods

Scout Team Defensive Players of the Year - David Driskell & Caleb Gastelum