clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 All-Big 12 Baseball Awards

The Big 12 announced their season awards today and as you'd expect, many of the usual suspects were honored.  In a year expected to be highlighted by a potentially dominant OU baseball team, our Sooners instead struggled throughout the year to win consistently and as such were shutout in Player/Manager of the year honors.  However, despite that fact OU did place multiple players on both the 1st and 2nd team selections.  So without further adieu, here are this year's winners.

Player of the Year:
Tyler Naquin, Texas A&M, So.
Pitcher of the Year: Taylor Jungmann, Texas, Jr.*
Newcomer of the Year: Zach Johnson, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Freshman of the Year: Erich Weiss, Texas, Fr.
Co-Coaches of the Year: Augie Garrido, Texas; Rob Childress, Texas A&M


Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Cody Asche, Nebraska INF Jr. O’Fallon, Mo./Fort Zumwalt West
Garrett Buechele, Oklahoma INF Jr. Arlington, Texas/Lamar
Brandon Loy, Texas INF Jr. Rowlett, Texas/Rowlett
Max Muncy, Baylor INF So. Keller, Texas/ Keller
Erich Weiss, Texas INF Fr. Brenham, Texas/Brenham
Tyler Ogle, Oklahoma C Jr. San Antonio, Texas/Canyon
Barrett Barnes, Texas Tech OF So. Sugarland, Texas/Fort Bend Austin
Krey Bratsen, Texas A&M OF Fr. Bryan Texas/Bryan
Tyler Naquin, Texas A&M* OF So. Spring, Texas/Klein Collins
Dane Phillips, Oklahoma State DH So. Nacogdoches, Texas/Central Heights
David Paiz, Texas Tech UTL Fr. Austin, Texas/Anderson
Brooks Pinckard, Baylor* UTL Jr. Buda, Texas/Hays
Taylor Jungmann, Texas* SP Jr. Temple, Texas/Georgetown
Michael Rocha, Oklahoma SP Sr. Buda, Texas/Hays  
Ross Stripling, Texas A&M SP Jr. Southlake, Texas/Southlake  
James Allen, Kansas State RP Jr. St. Charles, Mo./Francis Howell
Corey Knebel, Texas RP Fr. Georgetown, Texas/Georgetown

* - Unanimous selection

2nd team, honorable mention, and All-Freshman team after the jump.


Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Zach Johnson, Oklahoma State INF Jr. San Ramonm Calif./Ohlone JC
Jason King, Kansas State INF Jr. Dublin, Ohio/Jerome
Cameron Seitzer, Oklahoma INF Jr. Overland Park, Kan./Blue Valley West
Tant Shepherd, Texas INF Sr. Flower Mound, Texas/Flower Mound
Kelby Tomlinson, Texas Tech INF Jr. Elgin, Okla./Seward County CC
Jared Womack, Oklahoma State C Jr. Tampa, Fla./Ranger JC
Jared King, Kansas State OF Fr. Dublin. Ohio/Jerome
Casey Johnson, Oklahoma OF Sr. Mesquite, Texas/Mesquite
Jimmy Waters, Kansas OF Sr. Council Bluffs, Iowa/Lewis Central
Jonah Schmidt, Missouri DH Sr. St. Louis, Mo. Chaminade Prep
Gabe Weidenaar, Oklahoma State UTL Jr. Bozeman, Mont./College of Southern Nevada
John Stilson, Texas A&M SP Jr. Texarkana, Texas/Texarkana College
Logan Verrett, Baylor SP Jr. Corpus Christi, Texas/Calallen
Michael Wacha, Texas A&M SP So. Texarkana, Texas/Pleasant Grove
Casey Hauptman, Nebraska RP Sr. Omaha, Neb./Millard South
John Neely, Texas Tech RP Jr. Sugarland, Texas/North Central Texas College

Kansas: Casey Lytle, OF, Sr.; T.J. Walz, SP, Sr.
Kansas State: Nick Martini, OF, Jr.Missouri: Blake Brown, OF, So.; Phil McCormick, RP, Sr.
Nebraska: Kash Kalkowski, OF, So.
Oklahoma: Evan Mistich, DH, Jr.; Dillon Overton, SP, Fr.; Burch Smith, SP, Jr.
Oklahoma State: Davis Duren, INF, Sr.; Mark Ginther, INF, Jr.; Chris Marlowe, RP, Jr.; Brad Propst, SP, Sr.; Devin Shines, OF, Jr.; Mike Strong, SP, Jr.
Texas: Cole Green, SP, Sr.; Paul Montalbano, OF, Sr.
Texas A&M: Kevin Gonzalez, C, Jr.; Jacob House, INF, Jr.; Kenny Jackson, INF, Sr..;Matt Juengel, DH, Jr.; Adam Smith, INF, Jr.
Texas Tech: Bo Altobelli, C, So.; Jamodrick McGruder, INF, So.; Reid Redman, INF, Jr.


Name, School Pos. Hometown/Previous School
Krey Bratsen, Texas A&M* OF Bryan Texas/Bryan
Charlie Curl, Texas A&M INF Amarillo, Texas/Tascosa
Ka’iana Eldredge, Kansas INF Honolulu, Hawaii/Punahou
Jacob Felts, Texas C Orange, Texas/Orangefield
Jordan John, Oklahoma LHP Corpus Christi, Texas/Calallen
Jared King, Kansas State OF Dublin, Ohio/Jerome
Corey Knebel, Texas* RHP Georgetown, Texas/Georgetown
Trey Masek, Texas Tech RHP Giddings, Texas/Giddings
Dillon Overton, Oklahoma LHP Weatherford, Okla./Weatherford
David Paiz, Texas Tech* UTL Austin, Texas/Anderson
Mark Payton, Texas OF Orland Park, Ill./St. Rita
Erich Weiss, Texas* INF Brenham, Texas/Brenham
Rob Zastryzny, Missouri LHP Corpus Christi, Texas/ Calallen