clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Blake Griffin Wins AP Player of the Year

66 of the 71 AP voters made Blake Griffin the AP Player of the Year. 2 votes went to Hansbrough and 2 votes went to DeJuan Blair. I'm not quite sure who the other vote went to. Bill Self took home the Coach of the Year award, so congrats to the Jayhawk faithful on that one.

Also, just wanted to make a quick note that Hansbrough is somehow winning Naismith voting from the fans, which accounts for 25% of the vote for that award. I'm not sure why the fans are overwhelmingly voting for Hansbrough, and he's a good player, but he doesn't deserve it this year.

I think the rest of the Naismith voters will even it out.