clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Previewing Texas A&M

 Should Oklahoma win tonight against Texas A&M it will be the best start ever to a season for an Oklahoma men’s basketball team. The Aggies are 17-5 on the season and 3-4 in conference play including 0-3 on the road against Big 12 foes. In their previous match-up in College Station it was Austin Johnson who sparked a 69-63 Sooner victory with 19 points and 7 assist.

The Aggies rank 6th in the conference in field goal percentage with 43% and 8th in 3-point percentage with 36%. Chinemelu Elonu and Donald Sloan each average 10 and 11 points per game with Elonu grabbing almost 8 boards as well. Llonu is a physical player under the basket and averages 64% from the floor. He’ll have no problems with getting physical with Griffin inside the paint and will most likely draw a few fouls.

Josh Carter and  B.J. Holmes each average 10.7 points per game in conference play. For the season Carter leads the team in scoring with 13 points per game while shooting 36% from three-point range.  

I don’t think that anything is going to come easy for Oklahoma tonight. Texas A&M is up against the ropes and desperately needs a road win in conference. They are going to come out and bring physical basketball to OU in a effort to gain that road victory tonight. Like the game in College Station tonight’s game could be decided by guard play and I like OU in that match-up.

Big 12 Scores & Schedule

 

 

 

Date

Opponent

Result

 

Sun, Nov 16

AR Pine Bluff

W 76-47

 

Tue, Nov 18

Stephen F. Austin

W 55-48

 

Fri, Nov 21

Jackson St.

W 96-78

 

Tue, Nov 25

N.C. Wilmington

W 84-65

 

Fri, Nov 28

at Tulsa

L 56-67

 

Sat, Nov 29

at Kent St.

W 77-71

 

Fri, Dec 5

Arizona

W 67-66

 

Sat, Dec 13

at Alabama

W 86-78

 

Mon, Dec 15

Florida A&M

W 67-57

 

Wed, Dec 17

SMU

W 66-56

 

Sat, Dec 20

LSU

W 72-61

 

Sun, Dec 28

Sam Houston St.

W 60-50

 

Wed, Dec 31

at Rice

W 72-60

 

Sat, Jan 3

McNeese St.

W 57-52

 

Mon, Jan 5

North Dakota

W 76-62

 

Sat, Jan 10

at Oklahoma St.

L 61-72

 

Wed, Jan 14

(21) Baylor

W 84-73

 

Sat, Jan 17

(6) Oklahoma

L 63-69

 

Mon, Jan 19

at Kansas

L 53-73

 

Sat, Jan 24

at (14) Texas

L 58-67

 

Wed, Jan 28

Texas Tech

W 79-70

 

Sat, Jan 31

Oklahoma St.

W 76-64